Don’t let imposter syndrome stop you from making decisions

Don’t let imposter syndrome stop you from making decisions

A good read for beginners, and those looking to get into web development

Beginnings.

As I started my journey to become a web developer the thought of being an outsider or imposter in the CS world has been the biggest and to some extent still is a hindering factor. Sure I made a cute five to six pages worth website using HTML in 8th standard as a project but that was all there was to my web development knowledge.

Never would I have ever imagined just diving into this field but preparing full-time for UPSC can take a toll on your mental health which is exactly what I was going through and so decided to spice things up a bit. I came across the idea of web development one fine day as I was scrolling through my quora feed and some answers inspired me to take the leap of faith, if anything I will still end up learning an interesting skill and so began my journey.

Consistency is key! The more time you spend learning, the faster you'll get to where you're going so try to learn rather than chase a million-dollar job.

How to face your demons and come out victorious....Philosophy,poetry and much more

A Few months ago I started to listen to a podcast on Philosophy called Philosophize This! by Stephen West on Spotify and life became a little easy with some sprinkle of philosophy. Whenever I felt like hitting rock bottom Stephen's voice and the philosophy of life helped me pick myself up and make sense of the world that we live in. Now I am not saying that philosophy can solve all your problems. Certainly Not. But it sure does help to keep the mind in check to prevent it from turning into your biggest foe when you need it the most.

but beware don't start loving it too much coz you will be in forever!

Music is another saviour in the world of the mundane calculated matrix along with catching little joys by incorporating a hobby that you have been delaying since forever now.

Balancing Preparation of Upsc with web development.

Though I am still very new to this field but enrolling in the full web stack skill course of PhysicsWallah has certainly given me a helping hand and giving 2-4hours to the course while dedicating 6-7 hours to revision of my UPSC preparation seems like a good tradeoff where I would love to keep web developing as a hobby and a source of joy so as to keep loving it and not be drowned in double sorrow.LOL

Sources to learn web development.

There is no shortage of full-stack web development courses like PW, Udemy, Newton etc. But before jumping into the field do proper research on what you are looking for and which course will be suitable for you on youtube.

Code with harry was the first account on you-tube that I came across and he has created such an extensive plethora of videos that you can simply start your journey from there only to have more clarity

Apna college is another such you-tube channel which is highly practical and helpful

There is plenty of material in the sea to choose from so give it a 1 week's investigation and then pick an educational track and stick with it. Don't jump across various sources as you will end up being more confused than what you started with and well no one wants additional wasted time.

Why web development?

If you are someone like me who has always been fascinated with the designs and aesthetics of these wonderful websites along with the perk of learning modern skills and the opportunity to work remotely, especially in the post covid era then web development might be the one for you.

Play with it, fail, try and try again as nothing comes easy in life so we might as well choose what we are grinding for.

But wait, this isn't a movie that will end in a happily ever after, it's life and I know I still have a long way to go so let's learn together and share our experiences.

Remember it's never too late to learn and you are not lost till you stop finding your path. Persistence, Perseverance and most importantly your perception of yourself can make a sea change because you are you and not an imposter.

P.S. Don't forget to live!